Make-That-A-Take Records is a DIY punk rock record label/collective based on the east coast of Scotland.

We put on punk shows. We put out records.

We aim to contribute positively to our community and believe in the equality of and equity for all humans regardless of gender, race, religion, nationality, class, sexual orientation, status or any other perceived identifier.

We have a fairly open view of what constitutes ‘punk’.

We also host BOOK YER ANE FEST, a DIY punk/hxc festival to benefit Safe-Tay.

For all booking enquiries, please email info@makethatatakerecords.com.


This is what we do

Book Shows
We’ve put on some cool bands over the past ten years including Leatherface, Dead To Me (USA), The Smith Street Band (Aus), Arliss Nancy (USA), Elway (USA), Jeffrey Lewis & The Jrams (USA), The Caulfield Cult (Singapore), Failures’ Union (USA), AJJ (USA), Hard Girls (USA), Stay Clean Jolene (ENG), Departures, Bear Trade (ENG), Antillectual (NL), The Priceduifkes (BL), Direct Hit! (USA), The Human Project (ENG), Football, etc (USA), Defiance, Ohio (USA), The Slow Death (USA), Mikey Erg! (USA), Bangers (ENG), Franz Nicolay (USA), The Riot Before (USA), The Arteries (WAL), Chris T-T (ENG), North Lincoln (USA), Dear Landlord (USA), I-Farm (USA), Glass & Ashes (USA), Frank Turner (ENG), Even In Blackouts (USA), The Dangerfields (NI), PMX, Billy Liar, Step On It (HUN), Blackjacket (CAN), Ghost Mice (USA), Paul Baribeau (USA), Frigits (IRE), Apologies, I Have None (ENG), The Cut Ups (ENG), Mesa Verde, ONSIND (ENG), Kaddish, The Emos (ENG), The Hijacks, Mike Park (USA), The Living Daylights (ENG), New Bruises (USA), The Murderburgers, Joey Terrifying, Chief (ENG), Shields Up, Grader, Torturo Nervosa, Sunset Squad, Black Channels, Taking Chase, ICH (ENG), All Or Nothing (ENG), Flat Back Four (ENG), Spanish Gamble (USA), Drive By Audio, You Me And The Atom Bomb (ENG), The Fractions (ENG), Calvinball (ENG), deeCRACKS (AU), Broken Few (ENG) and loads more.

For all booking enquiries, please email info@makethatatakerecords.com.

If enquiring about BOOK YER ANE FEST, please read this FAQ before emailing.


Available from Bandcamp

New Releases

“Connotations” is the debut EP release from new Perth metallic hardcore punks Drive By Killer and features four tracks of raw and cathartic heavy hardcore punk rage.

All songs written and performed by Drive By Killer.
Recorded and mixed by Graeme Watt at Seagate Studios, Dundee.

Drive By Killer are;
Stef Bednarek – Vocals
Steve Cairns – Bass
Sean Ramson – Guitar
Grant Pettigrew – Drums

FFO; Suicidal Tendencies, Machine Head, Beastie Boys.

Free/pay-what-you-want download with all proceeds to Mindspace to support their ongoing vital work in community mental health and counseling work.

CD version to follow very shortly!

“Contentment” is the stunning new album from Dundee dream-pop playing punks Terrafraid featuring ten tracks of stunning hook-laden emotionally engaging shoegazey emo/pop-punk.

All songs and lyrics by Terrafraid.
On this recording, Terrafraid are;
Gavin Luke Ross – Vocals/Guitars/Bass
Sean Arnold – Vocals/Guitars/Bass
Ross Gammie – Drums/Vocals

w/ guests
Chrissy Barnacle – Vocals
Raph – Piano/Organ
Christina Menzies – Strings

Produced/mixed by Bruce Rintoul at 45-A-Side Recordings, Glasgow. Mastered by Robin Sutherland in Hyvikkälä, Finland.

CD album available in beautiful recycled eco-friendly digipack.

Many more releases are available from our Bandcamp Page and you can view them all from our full catalogue

First single from the forthcoming “Aphorisms” LP from Dundee acoustic cowpunk Tragical History Tour.

Written the day after the Brexit referendum and released the day Article 50 was triggered, “Come On Home, Hero” is “post-Brexit agit-pop” at its finest.

All songs written by Derrick Johnston,
except “Change” written by Billy Liar.
Performed by Tragical History Tour.

Recorded, mixed and mastered by John Harcus at Harcus Audio.
Artwork by Gordon MacKenzie
Music video by Gone Wishing.

Come On Home, Hero” is available as a one-sided white flexi 7″, as a three-track CD and as a digital download in collaboration with our friends at Aaahhh! Real Records.

“Float” is the rad new 7″ EP from our Danish skate/pop-punk compatriots Forever Unclean.

“Float” is the new four-track 7″ EP from Copenhagen melodic punks Forever Unclean and is jam-packed full of infectious energy, life-affirming punk rock sing-a-longs and melodic pop hooks that stick in your head for days.

Released in the spirit of collaboration with Disconnect Disconnect Records and 5FeetUnder Records, the “Float” 7″ comes on beautiful orange vinyl with digital download code and as a stand-alone digital download.

Written and performed by Forever Unclean
Recorded by Forever Unclean and Christian at Crisp Studio
Mixed by Jacob Bredahl at Dead Rat Studio
Mastered by Brad at Audiosiege

Check out the music video for “Float” at Punknews.org.

Upcoming Shows

Date Line-up City Venue Country
20/08/17 Eat Me (Venn Records, ENG), John Wheels, Buffalo Heart Dundee Conroy’s Basement United Kingdom
Time: 7:00pm. Admission: £5. Age restrictions: Over 18s. Address: 51-53 Meadowside. Buy Tickets Facebook Event Page
10/09/17 Apartments (NI) + support Dundee Conroy’s Basement United Kingdom
Time: 7:00pm. Admission: £5/6. Age restrictions: Over 18s. Address: 51-53 Meadowside. Buy Tickets Facebook Event Page
29/09/17 Don Blake (Round Dog Records, ENG), Paper Rifles + support Dundee Conroy’s Basement United Kingdom
Time: 7:00pm. Admission: £5/6. Age restrictions: Over 18s. Address: 51-53 Meadowside. Buy Tickets Facebook Event Page
01/12/17 - 03/12/17 BOOK YER ANE FEST XI Dundee Abertay Student Centre / Conroy’s Basement United Kingdom
Time: 4:00pm. Admission: £20/30. Age restrictions: 14+. Buy Tickets Facebook Event Page

Subscribe: RSS | iCal

Previous shows can be found by clicking here


Find Us Here
Upcoming shows
Recent Comments


    Thank you so much for all of the support recently, it’s very much appreciated. We hosted a benefit show for Dundee Refugee Support at Conroy’s Basement on Friday night and it was an absolute banger. Together we raised…

    Read the article


    The sun is shining here on the east coast and with the passing of the vernal equinox comes the beginning of spring and a whole load of goodness from your friendly neighbourhood cowpunks. It’s been a long…

    Read the article


    Goodbye Blue Monday are a punk rock band from Central Scotland. Formed in late 2016, the band…

    Read the article


    Make Yer Ane Comp VII is now available!
    40 tracks of DIY goodness for free/pwyw download.

    * denotes exclusive / premiere

    1. Goodbye Blue Monday

    Read the article

    load more posts


    Wanna Get In Touch?

    Contact Us

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)


    Your Message


    Please use the form on the left to get in touch with us or catch us in one of the below places.